Vermont Symphony Orchestra

Ann Greenawalt

Where were you born and (if different) where did you grow up? Columbus, Indiana but grew up in Barrington, RI from first grade on.

Current residence and marital status/family (including pets): South Royalton, VT. Married to trumpet player David Ellis. I have a daughter, Emily Ellis, actor/dancer in NYC; son, Miles Ellis, Part time UVM student & sports trainer/nutritionist in Burlington, VT and three cats ¬ Alice, Fred & Molly

Education: Attended Indiana University but transferred to the Juilliard School from which I earned a Bachelor’s & Master’s degree in performance. *When did you start playing with the VSO? 1989 Other current jobs besides VSO: Ellis Music Company, designer, manager of database and office manager.

Favorite composer: It’s difficult to single out just one but J.S. Bach has written so beautifully for the oboe family (oboe, oboe d’amore & English horn) that it’s hard not to put him at the top of the list.

Hobbies: Swimming, cooking, baking, sewing, knitting, gardening…when I’m not making reeds!

How did you get started in music? I heard someone playing the piano when I was three and begged to begin then but we didn’t get a piano until I was eight. I began playing right away and really took off. I had a private teacher but my dad was my additional coach. He threw unfamiliar music at me once a week and forced me to play without stopping or looking down at my hands and I became a great sight-reader. BUT I grew to love the sound of the oboe and after having to go through the drudgery of memorizing a piano recital piece that I hated, I put my foot down and demanded to start oboe lessons. That was just before I entered the 6th grade and that’s how I got my start.

Describe a typical day: When I’m not going to a rehearsal , playing a concert or teaching, I get up at 6 am to exercise, do the Classical Stretch at 6:30, go to Ellis Music after breakfast, return home for late dinner, practice & make reeds!

Dream job if not musician: Uhm..dreaming of retiring so I can read, enjoy some of my hobbies & travel.

Favorite vice: Cafe latte; anything chocolate.

Best advice I ever got: Favorite way to spend an evening: Not making reeds!

Pet peeve: Hearing anyone say “I’ve been there; done that”

I’m most proud of: my children and my students.