Vermont Symphony Orchestra

Jaime Laredo
Music Director

The VSO Blog

Remote lessons from VSO musicians

Playing an instrument is a perfect activity for coping with stress and staving off cabin fever while practicing social distancing. If you’re looking to learn a new instrument, get back into playing after some time off, or change up your current practice regimen, Vermont Symphony Orchestra musicians can help. In addition to being stellar performers, many of our musicians are experienced educators and offer remote lessons in a variety of styles (classical, jazz, bluegrass, etc.) using video conferencing platforms like Skype and Zoom. Here is a list of VSO musicians currently offering remote lessons—reach out using the contact information below to start the conversation about your interests and goals with your instrument!

Musicians are ordered alphabetically by last name within each instrument category; more may be added as they establish online lessons.

 

VIOLIN

Tudor Dornescu: http://www.tudordornescu.com, http://www.mirageviolinduo.com

David Gusakov: dgusakov@gmavt.net, (802) 453-3840

Jane Kittredge: janekitt@gmail.com, www.janekittredge.com

Aleksandra Labinska: a_labinska@hotmail.com, (617) 710-7959, https://www.aleksandralabinska.com

Carrol Lee: carrol.viola@gmail.com

Laura Markowitz: lmarkowitz2408@gmail.com, (802) 829-8168

Saeka Matsuyama: saekamatsuyama@gmail.com

Letitia Quante: the.quantes@gmail.com

Stefanie Taylor: steftaylorviola@yahoo.com

Katherine Winterstein: kathwint@mac.com

 

FIDDLE

David Gusakov: dgusakov@gmavt.net, (802) 453-3840

Laura Markowitz: lmarkowitz2408@gmail.com, (802) 829-8168

 

VIOLA

Tudor Dornescu: http://www.tudordornescu.com, http://www.mirageviolinduo.com

David Gusakov: dgusakov@gmavt.net, (802) 453-3840

Aleksandra Labinska: a_labinska@hotmail.com, (617) 710-7959, https://www.aleksandralabinska.com

Carrol Lee: carrol.viola@gmail.com

Laura Markowitz: lmarkowitz2408@gmail.com, (802) 829-8168

Stefanie Taylor: steftaylorviola@yahoo.com

 

CELLO

Bonnie Klimowski: bklimowski@gmail.org, (802) 373-0122

Perri Morris: perricellist@yahoo.com

 

UPRIGHT BASS

Luke Baker: lukerbass@hotmail.com

Eliot Porter: (401) 935-8934, eliot.porter@gmail.com, eliotporterbass.net

Evan Runyon: evan@evanrunyon.com, (520) 250-6191, www.evanrunyon.com

Alexander Svensen: (716) 397-9327, svensendoublebass@gmail.com, http://svensendoublebass.com/lessons

 

ELECTRIC BASS

Luke Baker: lukerbass@hotmail.com

Eliot Porter: (401) 935-8934, eliot.porter@gmail.com, eliotporterbass.net

Evan Runyon: evan@evanrunyon.com, (520) 250-6191, www.evanrunyon.com

Alexander Svensen: (716) 397-9327, svensendoublebass@gmail.com, http://svensendoublebass.com/lessons

 

ELECTRIC GUITAR

Evan Runyon: evan@evanrunyon.com, (520) 250-6191, www.evanrunyon.com

 

FLUTE

Anne Janson: anne.janson1@gmail.com

Melissa Mielens: mmielens@gmail.com

 

OBOE

Nancy Dimock: nancy.dimock@gmail.com

Sherwood Wise: sherwoodwise@hotmail.com

 

ENGLISH HORN

Nancy Dimock: nancy.dimock@gmail.com

 

CLARINET

Steven Klimowski: clarinet@together.net, (802) 777-7361

Kelli O’Connor: (860) 213-0463 (text or call), https://m.facebook.com/kellio70/

 

SAXOPHONE

Steven Klimowski: clarinet@together.net, (802) 777-7361

Kelli O’Connor: (860) 213-0463 (text or call), https://m.facebook.com/kellio70/

 

BASS CLARINET

Steven Klimowski: clarinet@together.net, (802) 777-7361

 

BASSOON

Janet Polk: janet.polk@unh.edu

Sherwood Wise: sherwoodwise@hotmail.com

 

HORN

Shelagh Abate: (917) 608-4928, shelaghabate@gmail.com, www.shelaghabate.com

 

TIMPANI

Jeremy Levine: jeremytimp@yahoo.com

 

PERCUSSION

Jeremy Levine: jeremytimp@yahoo.com

 

DRUM KIT

Jeremy Levine: jeremytimp@yahoo.com

 

PIANO

Tudor Dornescu: http://www.tudordornescu.com, http://www.mirageviolinduo.com

Aleksandra Labinska: a_labinska@hotmail.com, (617) 710-7959, https://www.aleksandralabinska.com

 

MUSIC THEORY

Tudor Dornescu: http://www.tudordornescu.com, http://www.mirageviolinduo.com

Aleksandra Labinska: a_labinska@hotmail.com, (617) 710-7959, https://www.aleksandralabinska.com

Official Sponsors 2020/2021 Season