Vermont Symphony Orchestra

Masterworks featuring Shelagh Abate, Mark Emery, & Gloria Chien

All concerts begin at 7:30 pm and are preceded at 6:30 pm by Musically Speaking, a free pre-concert discussion that provides entertaining insight into the evening’s program.

The VSO’s 83rd season closes with a brilliant, brassy flash. The concert opens uncharacteristically with a horn concerto featuring VSO Principal Horn Shelagh Abate. Pulitzer Prize-winning American Composer Ellen Taaffe Zwilich (b. 1939) wrote this piece in 1993 and it has become a favorite among horn players for the composer’s unique ability to capture the character of the instrument. This piece showcases horn’s bold and brash nature as well as its warm and soulful side.

The first half continues with yet another concerto, this time for piano and trumpet, written in 1933 by a 27-year-old Dimitri Shostakovich. The official title, “Piano Concerto No. 1,” is a bit of a misnomer as it equally features a trumpet soloist alongside the pianist throughout. As a result, the concerto is often referred to as the “Concerto for Piano and Trumpet,” and the trumpet soloist is often placed in front of the orchestra next to the pianist.

Beethoven commented that his seventh symphony was one of the favorite pieces of music that he’d ever written, and as Jaime and the VSO bring this symphony to life, you’ll see why it is an enduring classic and one of the most often performed pieces of classical music. The symphony was premiered in Vienna in 1813 with Beethoven himself conducting, and the applause following the second movement was so thunderous and lengthy that the orchestra played it a second time!


SHOSTAKOVICH   Concerto for Piano No. 1
BEETHOVEN – Symphony No. 7

Jaime Laredo, conductor
Shelagh Abate, horn
Mark Emery, trumpet
Gloria Chien, piano

Saturday’s performance is made possible by our season sponsors, and concert sponsors William Harwood & Elaine Hubert.